NANKHATAI – Indian recipe of sugar cookies


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was a request from a couple of friends – I experimented from what little I knew about Nankhatai- not because I haven’t seen it before but just because I am not a big sweet-lover and cookies anyways are always the last resort! But I promised my friends and had to do this for them.. so tried it and to my utter surprise I liked them the first time in my life!!!! my husband liked them too:):) It was shared with many other friends on the INDIAN Independence day party so this recipe declares my Independence as a cook – cooking without help or guidance for the first time :):):):) So here it goes:

Nankhatai Recipe : Yields about 20 cookies

Ingredients:
3/4 cup + 1 tbsp ghee at room temperature (clarified butter which is the secret to the rich-taste of these cookies and any Indian sweets)
3/4 cup  + 1 tbsp powdered sugar
2 cups sifted All purpose flour (Maida)
1 tsp baking powder

Method:
1. Mix well the sugar and ghee with a spoon. Then add the maida 1/2 cup at a time and mix well – adding more flour after prior batch is well combined.
2. Then add the baking powder and mix well.
3. Lightly grease baking tray with ghee.
4. Shape the nankhatai dough into balls (half-lemon sized) and slightly flattened and position them on the tray slightly apart. You can leave this  tray in refrigerator for 1 hr covered with foil or plastic wrap or other baking tray OR bake them directly.
 5.  preheat oven to 350 F. Bake for about 25-30 minutes (I baked for 35 minutes but you can keep 30 min and then if required increase by 5 more min). Remove from oven when the top of the cookies turn light pinkish or you can feel the base of nankhatai being little crisp and slightly hard – not falling apart.
6. Let the cookies cool to room temperature. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

