Archive for YOGA And AYURVEDA


MUDRA means hand postures – usually with the palm & fingers sealed in different ways together. Mudra for Yoga is used to direct energy through various parts of the body. I have posted the pictures of these Mudras here- Please click the pictures to view more clearly.

Recommended positions to perform these mudras: seated cross-legged on a mat or on a chair with mat under the legs- make sure no body part touches the ground (earth) in order to avoid transferring the energy to the ground instead of remaining in the body

2.GyanMudra, PruthviMudra and Pran Mudra can be done irrespective of whether a person suffers from a disease or not. Other Mudras should be continued until the disease is cured.

3. Any one mudra can be done for 30-40 minutes daily

4. Do not wear any types of ornaments/accesories on the wrist and fingers area in order to let the energy radiate without barriers

5. Perform mudras on empty stomach so early morning is a good time!


Leave a comment »


Ayurveda meaning the science of life is the oldest medical system available native to the land of India. It was placed in written form over 5,000 years ago in India, it was said to be a world medicine dealing with both body and the spirit. VedaVyasa, the famous sage, Shaktavesha avatar of Vishnu, put into writing the complete knowledge of Ayurveda. The study is based on the belief that the body is comprised of five basic elements of the universe: air, water, fire, space & earth. The healing and prevention elements include herbal medicines as well certain diet control while being put on such medication depending on the percentage of these 5 elements in the individual human body. It is a long-term prevention route rather than the short-term treatment of illness. It not only prevents and cures diseases but also enhances concentration, strength as well as beauty of a body.

Comments (2) »

Yogasana – The traditional physical & mental disciplines originating from India

Yoga is deeply recognized in Hindu idealism to be the contemplation for effecting union of the human soul with the Supreme Being. Although recognized as Hindu origin, Yoga is not a religion – it is a way to live life aiming towards a healthy mind in a healthy body. There are different forms of Yoga, basically – breathing techniques, meditation & poses(asana in Hindi). The 6 main branches of yoga are : Hatha (sun & moon – balance between the opposites), Bhakti (devotion), Jnana (knowledge), Karma (duty), Raja (8-limbed yoga because there are 8 aspects to get acquainted with reality and attain liberation), Tantra (study of universe from the point of view of an individual)
For more information visit

Comments (4) »